# Proceedings of the 13th International Symposium on Open Collaboration

## August 23-25, 2017 Galway, Ireland

General chair:	Lorraine Morgan, National University of Ireland Galway	
Doctoral Consortium chairs:	Kieran Conboy, National University of Ireland Galway Joe Feller, University College Cork	
	Matt Germonprez, University of Nebraska Omaha	
Industry and Community	Jeremy Hayes, University College Cork	
chairs:	John McDonough, Fidelity Investments	
Operations chair:	Eoin Cullina, National University of Ireland Galway	
Proceedings chair:	Denis Dennehy, National University of Ireland Galway	
Sponsors:	Science Foundation Ireland	
	Whitaker Institute, National University of Ireland Galway	
	The John Ernest Foundation	
In-cooperation:	ACM SIGSOFT	
	ACM SIGWEB	
Supporters:	School of Business & Economics, National University of Ireland Galway	
	Lero, the Irish Software Research Centre	
	SIGOPEN, Special Interest Group on Open Research and Practice	

The Association for Computing Machinery 2 Penn Plaza, Suite 701 New York New York 10121-0701

ACM COPYRIGHT NOTICE. Copyright © 2017 by the Association for Computing Machinery, Inc. Permission to make digital or hard copies of part or all of this work for personal or classroom use is granted without fee provided that copies are not made or distributed for profit or commercial advantage and that copies bear this notice and the full citation on the first page. Copyrights for components of this work owned by others than ACM must be honored. Abstracting with credit is permitted. To copy otherwise, to republish, to post on servers, or to redistribute to lists, requires prior specific permission and/or a fee. Request permissions from Publications Dept., ACM, Inc., fax +1 (212) 869-0481, or permissions@acm.org.

For other copying of articles that carry a code at the bottom of the first or last page, copying is permitted provided that the per-copy fee indicated in the code is paid through the Copyright Clearance Center, 222 Rosewood Drive, Danvers, MA 01923, +1-978-750-8400, +1-978-750-4470 (fax).

Notice to Past Authors of ACM-Published Articles : ACM intends to create a complete electronic archive of all articles and/or other material previously published by ACM. If you have written a work that was previously published by ACM in any journal or conference proceedings prior to 1978, or any SIG Newsletter at any time, and you do NOT want this work to appear in the ACM Digital Library, please inform permissions@acm.org, stating the title of the work, the author(s), and where and when published.

ACM ISBN: 978-1-4503-5417-2

#### The 13th International Symposium on Open Collaboration

## Foreword

Welcome to the proceedings of OpenSym 2017, the 13th international symposium on open collaboration!

The companion comprises two main categories of contributions to the conference:

- Extended abstracts from the doctoral symposium
- Industry and community contributions

We would like to thank everyone for their contribution to the success of OpenSym!

We would like to thank our financial sponsors, Science Foundation Ireland, Whitaker Institute, NUI Galway and The John Ernest Foundation, our ACM in-cooperation partners SIGWEB and SIGSOFT and supporters, the School of Business and Economics, NUI Galway, Lero, the Irish Software Research Centre and SIGOPEN, the Special Interest Group on Open Research and Practice. Without their support and sponsorship, OpenSym 2017 would not have been possible!

We hope that you will enjoy the work presented here and that it provides you with a glimpse of the diversity and energy of the actual event!

For the OpenSym 2017 conference committee!

Lorraine Morgan General Chair, OpenSym 2017 National University of Ireland Galway

## The 13th International Symposium on Open Collaboration

## **Table of Contents**

Industry and Community	
The Classification, Challenge and Potential of Business Models by Using Open Data	
Tetsuo Noda (Shimane University), Hiroki Fukushiro (Shimane University), Akio Yoshida (Jawaharlal Nehru University) Shane Coughlan (Opendawn)	A1
Scenario Based Prototyping - When Open Source meets the Video Star	
Paidi O'Raghallaigh, (INFANT Research Centre, UCC), Frederic Adam (Cork University Business School, UCC)	A2
Impacts of Openness on the Success of Information System Development Research Projects	
Stephen McCarthy (Cork University Business School,UCC), Paidi O'Raghallaigh (INFANT Research Centre, UCC), Ciara Fitzgerald (Cork University Business School, UCC), Frederic Adam (Cork University Business School, UCC)	A3
Using Swarming to Build Complex Dashboards	
Noelle Twomey (Dell), Paidi O'Raghallaigh (Business Information Systems, UCC), Tadhg Nagle (Cork University Business School,UCC), David Sammon (Cork University Business School, UCC)	A4
Crowdsourcing from the Community to Resolve Complex Service Requests	A5
Anthony O'Leary (VMWare), Paidi	

O'Raghallaigh (Business Information Systems, UCC), Tadhg Nagle (Cork University Business School, UCC), David Sammon (Cork University Business School, UCC)	
Doctoral Symposium	
The Value of Engaging with Open Source Communities	
Georg J.P. Link (University of Nebraska at Omaha)	B1
Individual Work Behavior in Online labor markets: Temporality and Job Satisfaction	B2
Azka Umair (National University of Ireland Galway)	
Peer Reviewed Government: Public Value for the People	
Ann O'Brien (National University of Ireland Galway)	В3
It's About Time: Applying Temporality	
to Software Development Teams Mairead O'Connor (Lero, NUI Galway)	B4
A Crowdsourcing Practices Framework for Science Funding Calls / Processes	
Eoin Cullina (Lero, NUI Galway)	B5
Reducing Knowledge Loss in Open Source Software	B6
Mehvish Rashid (Dublin City University)	

# **Conference Organization**

#### **Overall Organization**

Lorraine Morgan, National University of Ireland Galway (General Chair) Eoin Cullina, National University of Ireland Galway (Operations Chair) Denis Dennehy, National University of Ireland Galway (Proceedings Chair) Mairead O'Connor, National University of Ireland Galway (Social Media Chair)

#### **Doctoral Symposium Chairs**

Kieran Conboy, National University of Ireland Galway Joe Feller, University College Cork Matt Germonprez, University of Nebraska Omaha

#### **Industry and Community Track Chairs**

Jeremy Hayes, University College Cork John McDonough, Fidelity Investments

#### **Program Chairs**

Claudia Müller-Birn, Freie Universität Berlin Benjamin Mako Hill, University of Washington

#### **Associate Chairs**

Elisabeth Lex, Graz University of Technology Anneke Zuiderwijk, Delft University of Technology Aaron Shaw, Northwestern University Rob Gleasure, University College Cork Megan Squire, Elon University Gregorio Robles, Universidad Rey Juan Carlos Astrid Wichmann, Ruhr University Bochum

#### **Organizational Support**

Noel Carroll, National University of Ireland Galway Katherine Cronin, National University of Ireland Galway Hannes Dohrn, Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nürnberg Henry Edison, National University of Ireland Galway Dirk Riehle, Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nürnberg Gwen Ryan, Whitaker Institute, National University of Ireland Galway Angela Sice, Whitaker Institute, National University of Ireland Galway

